Where Magpies Turn Into Wallabies
Chipsy Wood Oval
104 Frederick St (off Villa St)
Annerley Q 4103
Ph 07 3848 3215


Souths Rugby Club was formed in 1948 and proudly boast the most successful Rugby Club in Australia. In 2008 Souths celebrated 60 years of Magpie Rugby history.

Since its inception in 1948, Souths have produced 70 Queensland representatives and 30 Australian representatives.

Souths has produced 5 Australian Captains – Nev Cottrell, David Codey, Andrew Slack (Australia’s Grand Slam Captain) Tim Horan and Jason Little.

In 1992 Souths created history when 7 players were selected as Wallabies to represent Australia. The first time any club had contributed 7 players to the Australian team. The Magnificent Seven included : Jason Little, Tim Horan, Dan Crowley, Troy Coker, Garrick Morgan , Tom Lawton and Sam Scott-Young.

Souths contributed significantly to the 1991 and 1999 World Cup winning Wallabies with four current and two former players in both teams.

Souths will continue to set the standard both on and off the field as Australia’s Premier Rugby Club well in to the new Millennium.



If you wish to receive the latest news and updates from Souths simply signup for the weekly enewsletter.

click here to signup

Latest Tweets

Hey Everyone we are shutting this facebook page down at 5pm. Just click below and hit like to keep up to date... https://t.co/HCuJ6gqoIN

Not long now till this page is shut down so please jump over to our new page and hit like :) https://t.co/ePhF6tHogj

Follow Us On

Our Location

View Larger Map