Southern Districts Rugby Club Official Page

Souths Rugby Union Club

Souths Rugby Union Club was formed in 1948 (Juniors in 1963) and proudly boasts being the most successful rugby club in Australia. Since its inception, Souths has produced over 70 Queensland representatives and over 30 Australian representatives. Our Junior and Senior Clubs merged in 2016 and our Under 6s to Premier Grade players are proud to be a part of the Magpie Army. We play the game and run our club with discipline, control and mutual self-respect.

Brisbane's Premier Rugby Club
U6 - Premier Grade

Shaftesbury Oval

111 ShaFtesbury St

Tarragindi QLD 4121 

Chipsy Wood Oval

104 Frederick Street (off Villa St)

Annerley QLD 4103 (Yeronga Park)


In 2016 the Junior and Senior clubs merged and are now one entity, fielding players from Under 6 to Premier Grade.

Senior club history

Souths Rugby Club was formed in 1948 and proudly boast the most successful Rugby Club in Australia. In 2008 Souths celebrated 60 years of Magpie Rugby history. Since its inception in 1948, Souths have produced 70 Queensland representatives and 30 Australian representatives.

Souths has produced 5 Australian Captains – Nev Cottrell, David Codey, Andrew Slack (Australia’s Grand Slam Captain) Tim Horan and Jason Little. In 1992 Souths created history when 7 players were selected as Wallabies to represent Australia. The first time any club had contributed 7 players to the Australian team.

The Magnificent Seven included : Jason Little, Tim Horan, Dan Crowley, Troy Coker, Garrick Morgan , Tom Lawton and Sam Scott-Young. Souths contributed significantly to the 1991 and 1999 World Cup winning Wallabies with four current and two former players in both teams. 

Souths will continue to set the standard both on and off the field as Australia’s Premier Rugby Club well in to the new Millennium.

Junior Club History

In Late 1962, following a surprise visit by an U12 team from Sydney, the idea of the introduction of competitive rugby being played at ages below 18 years was formulated.

Subsequently, in early 1963, with the objective of forming an under 10 team to represent the southern districts, 'Chipsie' Wood (Souths Seniors), Ted Bishop (Yeronga State School) and interested parents met and the Southern Districts Junior Rugby Union Football Club became a reality.

Intensive recruitment at the local State Schools and individual door knocking in the local district resulted in more than enough boys to form an under 10 team. With the enthusiastic help and advice from Mr. Arthur Lang, a former Brisbane City Council Alderman, the field at Shaftesbury Street was obtained and remains to this day as the home of Souths Juniors.

After the formation of the Sub Junior Committee of the QRU, four (4) teams representing Wests, Easts, Souths and Teachers Norths were organized to play each other on Saturday mornings. By 1970, Southern Districts were represented by teams in under 7 – 1st grade in yearly age groups. With this great depth of talent, Southern Districts has become the most successful Rugby Club in Queensland.

By Tony Lacaze (Life member and first President 1963 – 1966)